Ken Jennings

Message Boards

NTN/Buzztime/Trivbot

The place to talk. "On topic"? "Off topic"? We make no such petty distinctions here.

NTN/Buzztime/Trivbot

Postby Dactyl » Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:33 pm

Ken's thread regarding the viability of a national trivia tournament of some shape or form made me wonder how many people that come here ever play the interactive trivia game available in many restaurants and bars. It used to be called NTN, but I think they have chenged to Buzztime fairly recently. Whatever the case, I thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread and the renewal of Jeopardy, and I've been playing it for ten or eleven years now. Players can create an account (free) and then accumulate worthless 'status' points. These are similar to the marlboro Miles concept, but at least with the mileage there are some merchandise compensations going on. :wink: There are some very good players across the country and the competition between locations can sometimes be pretty fierce in a tame way. :wink:

Probably the most nerve-wrenching and adrenaline inducing game I have played was on the web. It was called Trivbot and I believe it was accessed through usernet and originated out of Austrilia. There were sets of 15 questions, but they were not multiple choice. You had to know the answer and type it in before anybody else. To make it more difficult, spelling counted. Good exercise for the old ticker.

Does anybody remember that, know if it is still available or play that game anymore? Of course, I am not so sure my heart could take it anymore. :lol: I'm probably much better off not knowing.
Dactyl

Postby jcrmoon42 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:55 pm

I've been an NTNer since 1993 when I stumbled across it in Sam's Town in Las Vegas and have played pretty consistently since then. I don't drink. So, it is always fun for me to sit at a bar with a glass of tea. The drunks usually say that is why I beat them. I just nod and smile.